12 females to contest 155 males in New Juaben D/A elections


Twelve females have filed nominations to contest the forth coming district assembly elections in the New Juaben Municipality.


The Municipality, which has 54 electoral areas, will also witness 61 females contesting for the unit committee elections.

The 12 females are contesting against 155 male counterparts with the exception of Esther Adjei who is unopposed for the Old Estate West Electoral Area.

The 61 females contesting the Unit Committee elections would be competing against 289 male counterparts for the same 54 unit committees.

In all 167 candidates have filed to contest the district assembly elections and 359 have filed to contest the unit committee elections.

According to statistics obtained by Ghana News Agency (GNA) from the Electoral Commission, out of the 54 electoral areas, only 12 had female candidates who had filed to contest in the forth coming elections indicating one for each of the 12 areas, whiles in the unit committee elections, several women had filed in one electoral area or the other to contest.

GNA also gathered that, some of the females contesting were incumbents who are seeking re-election whiles others are new candidates who wanted to represent their electoral areas.

The new female candidates include Doreen Wepare Issaka contesting against four males for the Adweso Estates, Kate Bedjabeng contesting a male for the Residential Electoral Area, Nana Ama Sarpong contesting two males at Asuofiriso electoral area, Ivy Bonsu Bandah, contesting four males for the Anglican Electoral Area and Felicia Lamptey also contesting a male at Nsukwaso Abotanso.

Others are Doris Bansah contesting four males at Anlo Town South, Winifred Anim, contesting four males at Sempomiensa Electoral Area, Adwoa Owusua, contesting a male for the Auogya Area and Gloria Gyapong contesting four males at the Akwadum Electoral Area.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here