Andre Ayew

Andre Ayew

FIFA have released the 23-man shortlist for the 2015 Ballon d?Or with Yaya Toure being the only African on the list.

Earlier reports claimed Ghana ace Andre Ayew was in the preliminary list but the Swansea star could not make the cut.

Four-time winner Lionel Messi and current Ballon d?Or holder Cristiano Ronaldo both lead the list, Gareth Bale has earned a nomination for his performances with Real Madrid and Wales.

The final vote to find a winner will be decided by captains and head coaches of each men?s national team and international media representatives.

The winner will be announced in Zurich on January 11, 2016.

Earlier this year, Ronaldo received the award for the second straight time, beating the likes of Barcelona?s Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich?s Manuel Neuer.

2015 Ballon d?Or Nomineees: 

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City)

Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid)

Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City)

Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain)

Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona)

Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich)

Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona)

Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)

Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)

Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)

Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona)

Paul Pogba (France/Juventus)

Ivan Rakitic; (Croatia/FC Barcelona)

Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich)

James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid)

Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal)

Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona)

Yaya Toure (Cote d?Ivoire/Manchester City)

Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich)

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.