2017 SWAG sports personality award given to Isaac Dogboe

swag Dogboe

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) on Friday night named new WBO world junior featherweight boxing champion, Isaac Dogboe as the 2017 Sports Personality of the Year.

The awards which came off at the International Conference Center saw the 23 year-old boxer (youngest world champion) claimed the ultimate award.

Dogboe was awarded for his role in international boxing by lifting the flag of Ghana high.he won two international belts – he defeated Julian Aristo to win the WBO international super bantamweight belt and also stopped Cesar Juarez to win the vacant interim WBO world super bantamweight strap.

The 2012 Olympian also won the Professional Boxer of The Year beating off competition from Duke Micah.

Last week, he became Ghana’s nineth world champion by stopping then champion Jessie Magdaleno in round 11 to win the WBO world super bantamweight belt.
Osagyefo Oseadeyo Agyemang Badu II, the Paramount Chief of Dormaa Traditional Area, was the Special Guest of Honour at the 43rd edition of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards Night.
Here is the full list of winners

1. Haruna Tahiru – Para-Athlete of the year. (Armwrestling)

2. Alhassan Okine – Kickboxer of the year.
3. Anthony Boafo Danquah Boakye – Cyclist of the year
4. Richard Amanor – Volleyball player of the year
5. Grace Atipaka – Female Badminton player of the year
6. Emmanuel Yaw Donkor – Male Badminton player
7. Vincent Torgah – Golfer of the year.
8. Salia Nsabila – Hockey player of the year
9. Christian Amoah – Weightlifter of the year
10 George Bankole (Handball) – Dedication & Valour
11. Ofori Asare (Boxing) – Dedication & Valour
12. Suzzy Dede Teye (Ladystrikers/ Black Maidens) – Discovery of the year
13. David Akwei (weightlifter) – Discovery of the year
14. Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestler) – Discovery of the year
15. Ampem Darkoa Ladies – Female team of the year
16. Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor – Special Awards
17. Alex Asante – Special Award
18. Dr KD Asante – Special Award
19. Dr Martin Engman – Special Award
20. Dr Paa Kwesi Ndoum – Special Award
21. David Abanga (footballer)– Most promising Star
22. Herbert Mensah (rugby) – Association President of the year
23. Yusif Abubakar – Coach of the Year

24. Priscilla Adobea – Female Footballer of the year

25. Thomas Abbey – Foottballer of the year (local)

26. Thomas Teye Partey- Footballer of the year (foreign)

27. Club of the year – Aduana FC

28. Sports Personality of the year – Isaac Dogboe

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here