Dr. Alfred Sugri Tia
Dr. Alfred Sugri Tia

The Ministry of the Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation (MESTI) on Tuesday inaugurated a planning committee in preparation for the Third Ministerial Meeting of the Commission on Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South (COMSATS).

Dr. Alfred Sugri Tia
Dr. Alfred Sugri Tia

The COMSATS meeting which is scheduled for April 2015, is aimed at fostering sustainable development in developing countries, through science and technology.

COMSATS, is a Pakistan-based inter-governmental organization, made up of 21 developing countries, including Ghana, Nigeria, Senegal, China, Kazakhstan, Philippines, Syria and Iran, and chaired by President John Dramani Mahama.

COMSATS plans workshops and training programmes, provides platforms for renowned scientists, technologists and scholars, to promote relevant science and technology for the development of member-states.

Dr Alfred Sugri-Tia, a Deputy Minister of MESTI, inaugurating the committee said, government recognizes the role of science, technology and innovation in economic and social development, and is making efforts to promote their utilization.

He stated that government is aware that ?the application of scientific research and innovation to all sectors of production is responsible for the economic prosperity currently being enjoyed by all the developed nations of the world.?

Dr Sugri-Tia said COMSATS panel of science and technology experts are key consultants, and provide support to member-states in the formulation and review of policies relating to scientific research and innovation.

He urged the committee members to work hard to make the upcoming COMSATS Ministerial Meeting a success.

Alhaji Rashid Pelpuo, a Minister of State at the Office of the President in-charge Public Sector Development, reiterated government’s commitment to make science, technology and innovation the core of Ghana?s economic development.

This, he said, would promote the country?s workforce and enhance productivity for the development of the citizenry.

Members of the committee include Alhaji Rashid Pelpuo, Dr Yahuza Gomda, a Director of MESTI, Madam Beatrice Okpoti, Ghana Immigration Service, and Professor Kwabena Aboa, Ghana Atomic Energy Commission.

The others are Dr Eugene Atiemo, Centre for Scientific and Industrial Research, Nana Ama Ofosu Asante, also at MESTI, Mr Marcus Addo, State Protocol, and Madam Mavis Kusorgbor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration.


Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.