46,682 voters expected to vote in Kintampo South

General Election
General Election

Voting started in earnest at 0700 hours at the Kintampo South Constituency in the Bono East Region where 46,682 voters are expected to cast their ballot in the Presidential and Parliamentary elections today.

At Apaaso, a community located on the highway between Jema, the district capital and Kintampo, voters started queueing at polling stations even before 0400 hours.

When the Ghana News Agency visited Polling Station 1A at 0615 hours, more than half of the 568 voters had queued since 0400 hours.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary candidate (PC) Ms. Felicia Agyei is the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) and is being contested by the current District Chief Executive (DCE), Alexander Gyan of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) who lost to her in the Election 2016.

But an independent candidate, a former (NDC) DCE Kojo Nyame Datiakwa who lost the NDC parliamentary primaries in 2016 and 2020 respectively to Ms. Agyei is also in the race.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here