African Achievers Awards

Westminster: the African Achievers Awards now in its 7th Edition, has honoured great African Achievers from African Leaders, Young Achievers, Community Builders to Captains of Industries across the continent. The AAA has fast become established as one of the biggest gatherings of influential and global African Achievers on the continent, the occasion is very grand and elegant.

This year’s Ceremony included a lecture (Theme: Girl Chid Right to Education: A Case for Africa) and the Achievers Honours, the ceremony held at the United Kingdom House of Parliament on the 30th of November 2017.

The Ceremony was Hosted by Rt. Hon. Diane Abbott who is a Member of Parliament and Shadow Home Secretary for the United Kingdom, she is also the first black woman to hold a seat in the House of Commons. The ceremony was Chaired by Cllr. Susan Fajana Thomas -former Mayor of the London Borough of Hackney & Chairperson African Achievers Awards Board, Dr Josephine Ojiambo (Deputy Secretary General of the Commonwealth) gave the Key note address, while Dr Alister Soyode (Founder BEN TV London), Professor Elio D’Anna (President of European School of Economics), Dr Mike Omotosho , Tonye Rex Idaminabo (Founder, African Achievers Awards) gave inspiring speeches.

This year’s honourees include:

1. Excellence in Leadership – Dr Josephine Ojiambo (Deputy Secretary General of the Commonwealth and former Chief of the Executive Board and External Relations Branch at the United Nations Population Fund).

  1. Enterprise and Business Innovation – Engr.(Dr.) Abubakar Isa FNSE (Managing Director of Spectrum Engineering Ltd Nigeria).
  2. Role Model to the Female Child – Patricia Lamour MBE, Co- founder of the Black History month, Managing Director of Aspire Education Group, a Gender and Social Development Consultant and most recently she was honoured by the Queen of England with an MBE.

  3. Role Model to the Female Child – Dr. Seinye O.B Lulu Briggs (Vice Chairperson of Moni Pulo Nig Ltd and Executive Director 0.B Lulu Briggs Foundation)

  4. Education Impact – Prof. Chris Imafidon, who is one of the “World’s foremost scholars on leveraging informatics for learning and exceptional achievement (genius)” according to the BBC, CNN and USA-Today. He was also described by TIME magazine as an “intellectual icon.” Leading Harvard and Oxford University educated Professors have described him as “the Patriarch of modern education and informatics”

  5. Special Recognition Award (Excellence in Film) – Ellen Thomas is a British actress originally from Sierra Leone who has performed many television and film roles. She is a regular cast member in BBC Radio 4’s Clare in the Community and in BBC Three’s Coming of Age etc.

  6. Special Recognition Award (Excellence in Public Service) – Cllr. Olu Babatola (first African Mayor of Greenwich, London)

  7. Community Philanthropist- Dr. Mike Omotosho (Founder, Mike Omotosho Foudation)

  8. Enterprise and Business Impact- Mr Uzochukwu Stanley CEO Stanel Group,

  9. Women Advocacy- Rainatou Sow (She is a Guinean woman who founded ‘Make Every Woman)

  10. Integrity in Public Office – Emmanuel Audu-Ohwavborua,

  11. Community Advocate – Julius Nkafu,
  12. Civic Impact – Alimatu Dimonekene ( Sierra Leonean anti-FGM campaigner)
  13. Special Recognition Award – Dr.Kelechi Ayankudi
  14. Special Recognition Award – Mervin Azeta
  15. Excellence in Education: Aduvie International School
  16. Community Impact Award: Dr Chima Desmond Anyanso
  17. Special Recognition Award (Human Rights Advocacy) – Mukami Mccrum. MBE
  18. Organisation Making a Difference- UNICEF

The ceremony also featured various discussions on Girl Child Education in Africa.

Panellists: Debbie Ariyo O.B.E (Founder and Chief Executive of AFRUCA), Jake McLeod (Senior Governmental Relations Adviser at UNICEF), Mary Ellen Matsui ( Executive Director, ATMA), Alimatu Dimonekene and Tina Pokuaah spoke in various topics ranging from the state of girl child education in Africa, relevant SDGs and how Africa is progressing generally.

The 2017 African Achievers Awards event was supported by 3 International NGO’s: SFT Foundation Trust, AFRUCA Children’s Charity and Justina Mutale Foundation. It is also produced, managed and maintained by the Institute of leadership and Management (a West African Leading Leadership Institute) & Achievers Media.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.