9-Member Planning Committee For Late Kofi Annan’s State Funeral Constituted

Kofi Annan
Kofi Annan

A 9-member Committee, chaired by diplomat and former Secretary to the Cabinet, Annan A. Cato, has been constituted to see to the organisation of a State Funeral for former Secretary General of the United Nations, Kofi A. Annan.

The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufu-Addo, made the constitution following the formal announcement of the sudden demise of the distinguished diplomat Mr. Kofi Annan which occurred on August 18, 2018, by the family.
The Committee was constituted in consultation with the wife of the late diplomat, Nane Maria Annan, his children and family.

Members of the Committee includes Cecilia Abena Dapaah, Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources; Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister-designate for Information; Mercy Debrah Karikari, Secretary to the Cabinet and Ahmed Hassan, Director of State Protocol.

It also includes Samuel Kumah, Chief of Protocol at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Brigadier General Charles Awity, Director General, Personnel Administration of the Ghana Armed Forces; Patrick Hayford, a retired UN official and Kojo Annan, son of the late Mr. Annan.

Acting as Secretary to the Organising Committee will be Nana Mensah, Director of Protocol at the Office of the Vice President.

Meanwhile, the scheduled date for the State Funeral is on Thursday, 13 September, 2018.

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here