Accra Mayor, Dhaka, and others Take C40 Vice-Chairs positions

climate change
Climate change

The mayors of Accra, Ghana; Dhaka South, Bangladesh; Medellín, Colombia; Nanjing, China; and Quito, Ecuador have been elected Vice-Chairs of C40 Cities. Their election gives the cities a seat on the C40 Steering Committee, which provides strategic direction for the global network of 96 cities committed to take bold climate action and clean the air we breathe.

Representing over 700 million citizens and one quarter of the global economy, mayors of the C40 cities are getting the job done, delivering concretely on the most ambitious goals of the Paris Agreement.

Mayors serving as Vice-Chairs on the C40 Steering Committee represent the geographically diverse members of the global network. Mayors of Accra, Dhaka South, Medellin, Nanjing and Quito, join Mayors of Boston, USA; Copenhagen, Denmark; Dubai, UAE; Durban, South Africa; Hong Kong, China; London, UK; Los Angeles, USA; Milan, Italy; Paris, France; Seoul, South Korea; and Tokyo, Japan to make up the sixteen member C40 Steering Committee.

“On behalf of all C40 mayors, it is my great pleasure to welcome Mayor Sowah, Mayor Khokon, Mayor Gutiérrez, Mayor Lan Shaomin, and Mayor Rodas as our newest C40 Vice-Chairs, said Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris and Chair of C40. “Each of the great cities of Accra, Dhaka, Medellin, Nanjing and Quito have shown incredible leadership in shaping the future, inspiring neighbouring cities and mayors right around the world. I look forward to working with my fellow mayors as we think local and act global in implementing the Paris Agreement at the local level.”

Send your news stories to Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here