Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio, and Governor Theodore Orji of Abia state have been elected into the upper chamber of the National Assembly (NASS) to represent Akwa Ibom North East senatorial district and Abia central senatorial zone respectively.

Akpabio polled a total of 422,009 ahead of Inibehe Okorie, the candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) who secured 15, 152 votes and Orji defeated Ahamdi Nweke of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) by a wide margin.

The governor had 46,070 ahead of Nweke who managed to secure 10, 204 votes.

Buruji Kashamu, Chairman, Organisation and Mobilisation Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), also emerged victorious at the parliamentary poll.

Kashamu unseated Gbenga Kaka from the Ogun east senatorial district, by polling 99, 540 votes ahead of Kaka?s 12, 972. Kaka, a former deputy governor of the state, defected to the Social Democratic Party (SDP) from the APC in 2014.

Meanwhile, David Umaru of the APC beat Babaginda Aliyu, governor of Niger state, by a wide margin in the Niger east senatorial district. Umaru had 149,443 votes against Aliyu?s 46,459 votes.


Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 234-972-832 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.