Twenty-four government appointees have been sworn in as Assembly members for the Akuapem North Municipality on Monday, at a special meeting summoned by the Presiding Member, Nana Asiedu Ofei.

They are Mr Kingsley Owusu, Madam Gladys Asare Anakwa, Mr Ebenezer Okoh Ampofo, Mr Edmund Agyei Williams, Mr Richmond Amoako, Madam Florence Opeibea Adu, Mr Isaac Addo, Mr Maxwell Duodu, Nana Korantemaa, Mr Joseph Kumatey and Madam Selina Appiah.

The others are Mr Samuel Addo, Mr Martin Gyeke, Mr Isaac Amuzu, Mr Kwaku Sintim Misah, Mr Daniel Nana Addo Keneth, Mr Yaw Okyere-Nyarko, Nana Ogyiri Henaku, Nana Kantinka Addy, Mr Ben Kumi-Larbi, Mr David Prah, Mr Samuel Kelly Manukure, Reverend G.O Kwapong and Mr Samuel Bekoe.

The move was to get the full complement of the 80-member assembly to enable the Assembly nominate the two persons, to represent the area in forming the Electoral College for the upcoming Council of State Elections, which was initially scheduled for February 9 but postponed to February 16.

The twenty-four appointees included four females and Reverend George Opare-Kwapong, Akuapem Presbytery Chairman of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana (PCG).

President Nana Akufo-Addo revoked the appointment of all government appointed assembly members in line with the amendment of the local government act and re-appointed new persons to fill the vacancy at all the Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies throughout the country.

Mr Dan Kwaku Botwe, Member of Parliament(MP), for Okere and Minister for Regional –reorganization and Developments , Mrs Nana Dokua Asaimah-Adjei, MP for Akropong Constituency and Nana Ansah Sasraku, Mamfehene and Kyidomhene of Akuapem were present at the ceremony.

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.