Albanian President Ilir Meta
Albanian President Ilir Meta

Albanian President Ilir Meta has decreed the dismissal of seven out of the eight ministers proposed by Prime Minister Edi Rama, the press office of the President informed on Saturday.

The seven dismissed were Lindita Nikolla as Minister of Education, Youth and Sports, Damian Gjiknuri as Minister of Infrastructure and Energy, Arben Ahmetaj as Minister of Finance and Economy, Niko Peleshi as Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Sonila Qato as Minister of Entrepreneurship, and Mirela Kumbaro as Minister of Culture.

According to the press release, Meta has not decreed yet the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Ditmir Bushati.

Moreover, Meta has decreed the appointment of Elisa Spiropali as State minister for relations with Parliament, Erjon Braçe as Deputy Prime Minister, and Bledi Cuci as Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development.

Meanwhile, the president has started decreeing other newly appointed ministers.

The new ministers are expected to be sworn in at the Jan. 21 parliament session.

According to local media reports, Prime Minister Edi Rama has visited the presidency on Friday and has handed the dismissals and new appointments for the presidential decree.

On Dec. 28, Rama announced the changes in the government, including the dismissals of seven ministers and the deputy prime minister and the appointment of a new state minister for relations with parliament. Enditem


Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 234-972-832 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.