AU calls for expediting ratification of free movement of persons towards socio-economic advancements

African Union headquarters
African Union headquarter

Member States of the African Union (AU) have been urged to expedite ratification of the AU protocol on free movement of persons towards the socio-economic advancements on the African continent.

The AU Commissioner for Social Affairs, Amira El Fadil, made the call on Thursday at the ministerial session of the AU Specialized Technical Committee on Migration, Refugees and Internally Displaced Persons, which was preceded by the experts meeting over the last three days, at the AU Headquarters in Ethiopia’s capital Addis Ababa.

So far, the Protocol has been signed by 33 AU member states, of which only 4 member states have deposited their ratification instruments with the AU Commission, namely, Rwanda, Niger, Mali and Sao Tome and Principe.

Reiterating that the Protocol on Free Movement of persons requires 15 ratifications to enter into force, the AU Commissioner has urged AU member states to increase the rate of ratification to enhance free movement and mobility in Africa.

“It is indeed important for us to appreciate concerns that some member states have raised on the ratification of the protocol, and jointly find the solution to address them.

“It is important for the continent to ensure its people, and goods and services move freely across borders to promote socio-economic development aspired in our Agenda 2063, when we said we are not leaving anyone behind,” the official said. Enditem


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here