The Ballon d’Or 23-man Shortlist


European club champions Real Madrid and German champions Bayern Munich topped the 2014 Ballon d’ Or shortlist released on Tuesday with six players each.

SuarezMario Goeste who scored the winning goal for Germany against Argentina in the 2014 FIFA world Cup was selected along with teammates, Philipp Lahm, Thomas Mueller, Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben and Bastian Schweinsteiger.
On the hand, current Ballon d’ Or holder Cristiano Ronaldo was also selected alongside team mates, Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Toni Kroos, Sergio Ramos, and James Rodriguez.
The lists were selected by FIFA’s football committee and France Football whiles the coaches lists was done by FIFA’s women’s football committee.

The final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of national teams and international media representatives selected by France Football.
The final three players with the most votes for each award will be announced on December 1st and the winners will be revealed on January 12, 2015.

However, Luis Suarez mysteriously did not make the cut due to his biting incident on Giorgio Chiellini which took centre stage in the 2014 FIFA world cup in Brazil.
But despite his questionable character Luis Suarez had a pretty good season with Liverpool, scoring 31 goals in 33 Premier League matches.

At Liverpool, the Uruguay forward goal statistics stood at; 83 goals in 133 appearances for the reds. In fact, this is one of the best by any Premier League striker.

FIFA Ballon d’Or nominees:

Gareth Bale (Wales), Karim Benzema (France), Diego Costa (Spain), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Angel Di Maria (Argentina), Mario Goetze (Germany), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Toni Kroos (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Mueller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Paul Pogba (France), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), James Rodriguez (Colombia), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast).

FIFA world coach of the year nominees:

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid), Antonio Conte (Italy/Juventus/Italy national team), Pep Guardiola (Spain/Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klinsmann (Germany/ U.S. national team), Joachim Loew (Germany/Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Chelsea), Manuel Pellegrini (Chile/Manchester City), Alejandro Sabella (Argentina/Argentina national team), Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atletico Madrid), Louis van Gaal (Netherlands/Netherlands national team/Manchester United).


R v B



James K. Attaglo Wilson (

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here