Home News Politics Bono NPP executive election; Twenty-six aspirants contesting

Bono NPP executive election; Twenty-six aspirants contesting

Mr. Oppong (middle), Mr. Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh, MP, Sunyani East and another member of the election committee

Twenty-six aspirants contesting Bono NPP executive election

Twenty-six aspirants out of 29 have been cleared by a vetting committee to contest for positions in the upcoming Bono Regional New Patriotic Party (NPP) executives’ election.

Kassim Siaka and Samuel Kwame Awuah, two disqualified aspirants were vying for the treasurer position, while Dauda Ibrahim Bamba who filed to become Youth Organizer pulled out after the vetting, to bring the number of contestants to 26.

The contest, expected to be conducted and supervised by the regional office of the Electoral Commission is scheduled for Sunday, May 29, 2022 at the Catholic Pastoral Centre in Sunyani.

The chairmanship position is being contested between the incumbent, Mr. Kwame Baffoe and Konlaabig Rasheed.

Mr. Joseph Mensah, the Bono Regional Director of the National Health Insurance Authority, Nana Atta Fena, a retired educationist, Messrs Kwadwo Agyekum and Prince Kofi Nchira are vying for the First Vice-Chairman’s position, with Henry Oppong and Kate Nana Yaa Amponsah Agyare are seeking to become Second Vice-Chairman.

Mr. Kofi Ofosu Boateng, the incumbent Secretary is being challenged by Mr. Franklin Osei-Antwi and Ebenezer Asare Baffour, while Isaac Kwame Benkae, Ebenezer Anane, Stephen Anane and Randy Ashraf are contesting for the Assistant Secretary’s position.

Evans Afari Gyan Yeboah, Darlington Bill Boampong and Bashiru Hassan Adams are vying for the Organizer’s position, with the Women’s Organizer position being contested between Madam Doris Asomah and Mrs. Dorothy Ama Amponsah.

The candidates for the Youth Organizer’s position are Shadrach Abrefa Mensah and Abdul-Razack Oppong, with Alhaji Issaka Issa and Anthony Yeboah challenging for the position of Treasurer.

The Nasara Coordinator is between Alhaji Osman Faisal and Alhaji Bashiru Wahab.

Briefing the media after the vetting in Sunyani, the Chairman of the elections Committee, Mr. Kwabena Oppong explained the delegates who would be casting their ballots are made up of executives from all 12 constituencies, Council of elders, patrons, incumbent regional Executives, and the Party’s Members of Parliament (MP) in the region.

Other delegates are the regional representatives on the National Council, founding members and a representative each from all 12 Tertiary Students Confederacy in the region.

He cautioned all aspirants to go about their campaigns devoid of insults and name calling, saying elections are not about fighting but what one can do to enhance the fortunes of the Party in general elections.

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com Follow News Ghana on Google News



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

WP Radio
Exit mobile version