Calestous Juma
Calestous Juma

Calestous Juma, the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Visiting Professor at MIT, received a Lifetime Africa Achievement Prize (LAAP) for his leadership in socioeconomic development in Africa. The award will be presented to Juma in Nigeria on Oct. 10 by the Millennium Excellence Foundation.

Calestous Juma
Calestous Juma

Juma, a visiting professor at the MIT Department of Urban Studies and a research affiliate of the MIT Center for International Studies and a Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences, is among 16 recipients of this year’s esteemed award. The Millennium Excellence Foundation noted that the nominations were “unprecedented as the laureates met the mark of excellence of distinction never seen in the continent in several decades.”

African heads of state, leaders of industry across the continent, academicians, the diplomatic corps, and a host of politicians will join in to celebrate this year’s laureates. The LAAP laureates will also participate in an economic forum to discuss issues rising from food security and sustainability to the scourge of Ebola in Africa. The outcomes of the discussions by the laureates will be communicated to African leaders and the general public.

Every two years, members of the Board of Governors of the Millennium Excellence Foundation nominate those who deserve recognition of merit and leadership within critical areas of socioeconomic development in Africa, and of championing and positively impacting the lives of Africans.

About Millennium Excellence Foundation

The Millennium Excellence Awards is owned and run by the Excellence Awards Foundation (EAF), a private institution registered as a company limited by Guarantee under the Ghana Companies Code of 1964 Act172. The mandate of the Foundation (EAF) is to create programs that inculcate Leadership, Excellence and Mentorship for all and to acknowledge the diligent works of mankind for others to follow.

The EAF supports non-profit organizations through sponsorships in Ghana and Africa with a mission to create quality for all and to raise the standard of living of citizens both in rural and urban areas. The Millennium Excellence Awards is held once every five years and acknowledges and celebrates distinction in our society by individuals, groups and organizations both local and foreign.

About African Academy of Sciences (AAS)

AAS is a pan African academy of all Sciences established in 1985 that honors the best African and non-African scientists and leaders who have contributed the development of science, technology and innovation on the African continent. AAS has a strategic partnership with the AU, and its technical bodies such as NEPAD and the Pan- frican University (P U). The cademy?s current programmatic focus President: Prof Aderemi Kuku ([email protected]); Secretary General: Prof Georges-Ivo Ekosse ([email protected]);
Treasurer: Dr Thomas M. Kariuki ([email protected]); Executive Director: Prof Berhanu Abegaz ([email protected])areas are; Climate Change; Water and Sanitation; Health and Wellbeing, Food Security and Nutritional Wellbeing; Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) and Sustainable Energy.

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 

Previous articleOpen Letter To Coroner O.A Komolafe
Next articleEvent Guide Magazine Features Kafui Dey
News Ghana is a premier news source that covers daily news of Ghana, Africa and the World over.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here