Coach Loew Retains Some Players From Euro 2016 Squad

Germany coach Joachim Loew Friday retained 19 players from his Euro 2016 squad for the opening of the 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign.

Germany coach Joachim Loew
Germany coach Joachim Loew

There is a first call up for Hoffenheim’s 20-year-old central defender Niklas Suele, while two other members of Germany’s Olympic silver medallist team, Schalke midfielder Max Meyer and Bayer Leverkusen midfielder Julian Brandt, are also included.

Germany coach Joachim Loew
Germany coach Joachim Loew
Outgoing captain Bastian Schweinsteiger is in the squad for Wednesday’s friendly against Finland in Moenchengladbach, which will be the Manchester United midfielder’s farewell game for the national team.

Schweinsteiger, 32, announced his retirement from international football after Euro 2016.

Germany take on Norway in Oslo on September 4 in the world champions’ first World Cup qualifying match.

They also face the Czech Republic in Hamburg on October 8, Northern Ireland in Hanover on October 11 and visit San Marino on November 11 in qualifiers this year. A friendly is also lined up against Italy on November 15.

“It is our aim to develop a team over the next two years who are in a position to defend their title in Russia,” Loew said.

The squad contains many experienced players but at the same time younger players will be integrated, Loew said.

Euro 2016 squad members Jerome Boateng, Mario Gomez and Leroy Sane are still out with injuries. Midfielders Marco Reus and Ilkay Guendogan, who missed the Euros because of injury, are remain absent as they continue their recoveries.

Lukas Podolski, who was also due to be given a farewell after announcing his retirement from international duty, is out with an ankle injury.

Back in the squad is Bayer Leverkusen’s winger Karim Bellarabi and his new team-mate, striker Kevin Volland, who were overlooked for Euro 2016.

Squad: Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen)

Defenders: Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Emre Can (Liverpool), Shkodran Mustafi (Valencia), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Niklas Suele (Hoffenheim), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund), Mesut Oezil (Arsenal), Max Meyer (Schalke), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Karim Bellarabi (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (VfL Wolfsburg), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Andre Schuerrle (Borussia Dortmund)

For Finland game: Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United)

Forwards: Mario Goetze (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin Volland (Bayer Leverkusen)

Source: GNA/News Ghana

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here