Education Minister Inaugurates Council For UMaT


The Minister of Education, Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang, has inaugurated a 15 member Council of the University of Mines and Technology (UMaT) to ensure the smooth running of the institution for the next two years.

Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang
Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang

The Council, which is chaired by Professor Eric Y. Danquah, has Dr. Joyce Rosalind Aryee, Dr. Ebenezer K. Hayford, Ms. Betty Bosomtwi-Sam, Dr. Anthony Aubyn, Professor Jerry Kuma, Professor V. A. Oteng and Mrs. Cecilia Addei as members.
The rest are Mr. Joe Ocloo Nyamadi, Mr. Enock Oteng Amponsah, Mr. Philip Kwaku Treveh, Mr. Osman A. Abengo, Mr. Justice Ametorgo, Mr. Henry Amankwah Afrifa and Mr. Sulemana Koney.
The Council has two years to see to the internal organisation of the University, which includes the establishment, variation and supervision of academic divisions, departments, institutions and hostels, as well as to promote income generating activities.
Professor Opoku-Agyemang asked the members to ensure that the University provided good education, research, undertook consultancy activities and foster collaboration with other bodies.
She said a number of development projects were on-going at the University, and assured that government will assist the council members to support the cause of the learning institution.
The Education Minister also commended the Wassa Fiase Traditional Council for releasing land for future expansion of the University.
She said: ?We are certain that this Council will live up to the expectation of the President of the Republic, who has endorsed nominations.?
The Chairman of the Council, Prof. Eric Y. Danquah thanked government for establishing the Council and commended the immediate members of the Council for their years of service and achievements.
He assured the Minister that UMaT will work effectively to produce best professionals.


Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here