Facts and Figures of the SIC Nyemitei SWAG Cup

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) CUP match is a ceremonial game played at the end of the season between two most exciting clubs in the League to generate revenue to fund the activities of the Association.


Mysterious Cape Coast Ebusua Dwarfs won the maiden edition of the SWAG Cup in 1972.

wpid-Kotokobus.jpgBelow are facts and figures of the SWAG Cup since it inception;

1972 Mysterious Dwarfs (Cape Coast) beat Hearts
of Oak (Accra) 1-0
1973 Hearts of Oak (Accra)
1974 Hearts of Oak (Accra) and Tano Bofoakwa (Sunyani) *shared
1975 Tano Bofoakwa (Sunyani)
1976 Dumas Boys of GTP (Tema)
1977 Hearts of Oak (Accra) and Dumas (Tema) *shared
1978 Hearts of Oak (Accra)
1979 Hearts of Oak (Accra)
1980 Eleven Wise (Sekondi)
1981 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
1982 Hasaacas (Sekondi)
1983 Hasaacas (Sekondi)
1984 Hearts of Oak (Accra)
1985 Hearts of Oak (Accra)
1986 Asante Kototo (Kumasi)
1987 Okwahu United (Nkawkaw)
1988 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
1989 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
1990 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
1991 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
1992 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
1993 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
1994 Goldfields (Obuasi) beat Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) 2-1
1995 Goldfields (Obuasi) beat Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) 4-2
1996 No Competition
1997 All Black (Swedru) beat Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) 1-0
1998 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) and All Blacks (Swedru) draw *shared
1999 No Competition
2000 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) beat King Faisal (Kumasi) 1-0
2001 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)
2002 No Competition
2003 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) beat Liberty Professionals (Accra) 2-1
2004 No Competition – Clubs demanded huge money, so foreign club contracted.
2005 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) beat Agaza (Lome, Togo) 2-1
2006 AshantiGold (Obuasi) beat Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) 1-0
2007 Liberty Professionals (Accra) beat Hearts of Oak (Accra) 3-0
2008 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) beat AshantiGold (Obuasi) 2-1
2009 Heart of Lions (Kpando) beat Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) 0-1, 2-0
2010 AshantiGold (Obuasi) beat Hearts of Oak (Accra) 0-0, 0-1
2011 No Competition
2012 No Competition
2013 No Competition
2014 No Competition
2015 AshGold vrs Asante Kotoko – Who is Who?

Asante Kotoko have won the trophy 12 times
Hearts of Oak have won the trophy 5 times
AshantiGold have won the trophy 4 times
Some of the exciting clubs featured are Dwarfs, Dumas Boys, Tano Bofoakwa, Eleven Wise,
Hasaacas, Okwahu United, All Blacks, AshantiGold, Heart of Lions, Liberty Professionals and now Medeama.
The SWAG CUP match is played to honour ex- GFA and Hearts of Oak Director, Henry Plange
Nyemitei, popularly known as H.P. Nyemitei, who also worked at the SIC Insurance Company who are sponsors of match.
The SWAG CUP match has been a venue for the display of unknown players who later become stars
and super stars. The clubs create surprises and the fans love the SWAG CUP. The SWAG CUP
match has not been played in some years due to huge financial demands from the popular clubs, however it is a platform to showcase players and the fans love it.
By Sammy Heywood Okine

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here