Following are the FIFA Player of the Year winners after Barcelona striker Lionel Messi won the prize in Milan on Monday (combined with France Football magazine’s Ballon d’Or for European player of the year from 2010-15):

1991_Lothar Matthaeus, Germany
1992_Marco Van Basten, Netherlands
1993_Roberto Baggio, Italy
1994_Romario, Brazil
1995_George Weah, Liberia
1996_Ronaldo, Brazil
1997_Ronaldo, Brazil
1998_Zinedine Zidane, France
1999_Rivaldo, Brazil
2000_Zinedine Zidane, France
2001_Luis Figo, Portugal
2002_Ronaldo, Brazil
2003_Zinedine Zidane, France
2004_Ronaldinho, Brazil
2005_Ronaldinho, Brazil
2006_Fabio Cannavaro, Italy
2007_Kaka, Brazil
2008_Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal
2009_Lionel Messi, Argentina
2010_Lionel Messi, Argentina
2011_Lionel Messi, Argentina
2012_Lionel Messi, Argentina
2013_Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal
2014_Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal
2015_Lionel Messi, Argentina
2016_Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal
2017_Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal
2018_Luka Modric, Croatia
2019_Lionel Messi, Argentina

Previous winners of the Golden Ball, awarded to the European player of the year by France Football magazine:
1956_Stanley Matthews, Blackpool
1957_Alfredo Di Stefano, Real Madrid
1958_Raymond Kopa, Real Madrid
1959_Alfredo Di Stefano, Real Madrid
1960_Luis Suarez, Barcelona
1961_Omar Sivori, Juventus
1962_Josef Masopust, Dukla Prague
1963_Lev Yashin, Dynamo Moscow
1964_Denis Law, Manchester United
1965_Eusebio, Benfica
1966_Bobby Charlton, Manchester United
1967_Florian Albert, Ferencvaros
1968_George Best, Manchester United
1969_Gianni Rivera, AC Milan
1970_Gerd Muller, Bayern Munich
1971_Johan Cruyff, Ajax
1972_Franz Beckenbauer, Bayern Munich
1973_Johan Cruyff, Barcelona
1974_Johan Cruyff, Barcelona
1975_Oleg Blokhin, Dynamo Kiev
1976_Franz Beckenbauer, Bayern Munich
1977_Allan Simonsen, Borussia Moenchengladbach
1978_Kevin Keegan, Hamburg SV
1979_Kevin Keegan, Hamburg SV
1980_Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Bayern Munich
1981_Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Bayern Munich
1982_Paolo Rossi, Juventus
1983_Michel Platini, Juventus
1984_Michel Platini, Juventus
1985_Michel Platini, Juventus
1986_Igor Belanov, Dynamo Kiev
1987_Ruud Gullit, AC Milan
1988_Marco van Basten, AC Milan
1989_Marco van Basten, AC Milan
1990_Lothar Matthaeus, Inter Milan
1991_Jean-Pierre Papin, Marseille
1992_Marco van Basten, AC Milan
1993_Roberto Baggio, Juventus
1994_Hristo Stoichkov, Barcelona
1995_George Weah, AC Milan
1996_Matthias Sammer, Borussia Dortmund
1997_Ronaldo, Inter Milan
1998_Zinedine Zidane, Juventus
1999_Rivaldo, Barcelona
2000_Luis Figo, Real Madrid
2001_Michael Owen, Liverpool
2002_Ronaldo, Real Madrid
2003_Pavel Nedved, Juventus
2004_Andriy Shevchenko, AC Milan
2005_Ronaldinho, Barcelona
2006_Fabio Cannavaro, Juventus-Real Madrid
2007_Kaka, AC Milan
2008_Cristiano Ronaldo, Manchester United
2009_Lionel Messi, Barcelona
2016_Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid
2017_Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid


Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 

Previous articleKenya to host annual travel convention
Next articleZambian civic leader calls for investment in agriculture
Xinhua News Agency, Xinhuanet is an important central news service-oriented website, an important information organ of the central government, and an important platform for building up China's online international communication capacity. Established on November 7, 1997, as an online news provider of the Xinhua News Agency, it was officially named Xinhuanet on March 10, 2000 and began around-the-clock news release with leading online public opinion at home and setting a good image of China abroad as its main task.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here