Minister of Interior, Mark Owen Woyongo
Minister of Interior, Mark Owen Woyongo

Five incumbent Members of Parliament in 13 constituencies in the Upper East Region have lost their seats.

Ghanaian Parliament
Ghanaian Parliament

Mr, Mark Wayongo the incumbent NDC Member of Parliament (MP) for the Navrongo Central Constituency, lost the seat to Mr Kofi Adda of the NPP who polled 20,667 making 51.69 per cent of the total votes cast as against the 17,203, 43.2 per cent made by the incumbent.

The Zebilla Constituency incumbent NDC MP, Mr Cletus Apul Avoka, also lost by 240 votes to a new entrant, Mr Frank Fuseini Adongo, of the NPP who got 22,361 votes while Mr David Adakudgu, incumbent NDC MP of the Tempane Constituency also lost by 2,666 votes to Mr Joseph Dindiok Kpemka of the NPP who had 13,363 votes.

Mr Alhassan Azong, the incumbent PNC MP for Builsa South Constituency, who has always retained the seat, lost it to Dr Clement Apaak of the NDC when he made 4,462 votes as against the 7,666 votes of his opponent.

The Nabdam Constituency also witnessed a change when the incumbent NPP MP, Mr Boniface Gambilla, lost when he polled 6,528, to Dr Mark Kurt Nawaane of the NDC who got 9,373 votes.

However out of the 13 constituencies that have their results declared by the Electoral Commission in the region, four NDC MPs have retained their seats, Mr James Agalga, the incumbent NDC MP of Builsa North, polled 7,666 to retain the seat as against his closest competitor, Mr William Abayak of the CPP who got 4,462 votes .

In the Pusiga Constituency, Hajia Lardi Ayishetu Ayamba, the incumbent NDC MP retained the seat with 12,814 votes when she beat Mr Simon Akuye Atimgbam, an Independent Contestant who got 8,405 votes and Mr Ayuba Alubiba of the NPP who got 7,205 votes.

Dr Dominic Ayine, the incumbent NDC MP, retained the Bolgatanga East seat with 10,492 votes as against the 4,224 votes polled by Dr Emmanuel Abugri Aboole of the NPP and Mr Baba S. Ayinenongma of the PPP who polled 138 votes.

Mr Benson Tongo Baba, the incumbent NDC MP for the Talensi Constituency retained the seat with 12,874 as against the closest contestant, Mr Thomas Wuni Pears, who polled 8,382 votes.

The newly elected MPs who will be going to Parliament for the first time include Mr Abambire Bawah of the NDC for Bongo who polled 18,442 votes to beat his closest opponent, Mr Gabriel Nsoh Ade-Agana, who got 6,800 votes while Mr Albert Akoka Alalzuga of the NDC won the Garu seat with 12,809 votes as against Mr Alhassan Samari of the NPP who got 10,856 votes.

Mr Isaac Adongo of the NDC took the Bolgatanga Central seat when he polled 25,042 votes to beat Mr Rex Simeon Asanga of the NPP who got 15,610 votes and Dr Robert Kuganab-Lem, the present Upper East Deputy Regional Minister, won the Binduri seat on the NDC ticket.

The Results from two other constituencies in the region are still pending.


Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.