Five New Patriotic Party (NPP) Members of Parliament in the Western and Western North Regions lost their seats in the Saturday Parliamentary primaries.

Mr Joe Mensah of Kwesimintsin, Mr Ato Panford of Shama, Mr Patrick Bogyako-Saime of Wassa Amenfi East, Mr Alex Kofi Agyekum of Mpohor, all in the Western Region and Mr Kingsley Aboagye-Gyedu, Western North Regional Minister all lost their seats to new faces.

At the Kwesimintsin Constituency Mr Joe Mensah first time MP lost to Mr Prince H. Armah CEO of the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NACCA), Mr Ato Panford, MP of Shama and Vice Chairman of Parliament’s Trade and Industry Committee, was kicked out by Mr Samuel Erickson Abakah.

Mr Alex Kofi Agyekum, the MP of Mpohor Constituency and Chairman of Parliament’s Youth and Sports Committee, was defeated by Mr John Abban Sannie, whilst Mr Patrick Bogyako-Saime, MP of Wassa Amenfi East, lost his seat to Mr Edward Amo-Acquah.

Mr Kingsley Aboagye-Gyedu, Western North Regional Minister and MP of Bibiani Anhwiaso-Bekwai, lost the seat to Mr Alfred Obeng Boateng former Managing Director of the Bulk Oil Storage and Transport Company Limited (BOST).

Meanwhile eight MPs in Western and Western North Regions went unopposed.

Mr Joe Ghartey, MP of Essikado-Ketan Constituency, Mr Andrew Agyapa-Mercer, MP of Sekondi, Mrs Catherine Abelemah Afeku of Evalue-Ajomoro-Gwira Constituency, Mrs Barbara Oteng Gyasi, MP of Prestea-Huni Valley and Mr George Mireku Duker of Tarkwa-Nsuaem and Mr Paul Essien, Jomoro MP all went unopposed in Western Region

Dr Kwaku Afriyie, MP of Sefwi-Wiawso and former Western Regional Minister and Mr Alex Djonoboah Tetteh, MP of Sefwi-Akontombra Constituency also went unopposed in Western North Region.

Mr Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP of Ahanta West Constituency beat his sole contender Mr Kwesi Biney. Mr Joseph Cudjoe Mensah of Effia Constituency defeated Dr Adowa Kwagyeriba, with Mr Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, Western Regional Minister, retaining his seat by beating Madam Janet Edna Nyame for the Takoradi seat.

Results at a glance

Takoradi Constituency

Mr Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah-343- elected
Madam Janet Edna Nyame 197

Shama Constituency

Mr Ato Panford 209

Mr Samuel Erickson Abakah 263 Elected

Ahanta West Constituency

Mr Ebenezer Kojo Kum 472 elected

Mr Kwasi Binney 249

Effia Constituency

Mr Joseph Cudjoe 312 elected

Dr Adwowa Kwagyeriba 105

Kwesimintsim Constituency

Mr Joe Mensah 179

Dr Prince Ameed Armah 222 elected

Mpohor Constituency

Mr Alex Kofi Agyekum 100

Mr John Kobina Aboah Sannie 192 elected

Wassa Amenfi East

Mr Patrick Bogyako-Saime 234

Mr Edward Amo-Acquah 562 elected

Bibiani Anhwiaso-Bekwai Constituency (WN)

Mr Kingsley Aboagye-Gyedu 188

Mr Alfred Obeng Boateng 580 elected


Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 234-972-832 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.