Ghana’s electoral body announces candidates for presidential election

Ghana's Electoral Commission (EC) on Wednesday announced that seven presidential candidates had been cleared to contest in the Dec. 7 elections.

Electoral Commission
EC logo

The electoral body accepted the nomination forms of three more candidates for the elections after a Supreme Court ruling ordered a second chance to be given to disqualified candidates to correct their nomination forms.

The three, Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party, Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party, and Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention, join four other candidates who have already been approved for the race.

They are John Dramani Mahama of the governing National Democratic Congress (NDC), Nana Akufo-Addo of the main opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), and Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent candidate.

The EC also rejected the nomination of eight aspirants while two others withdrew from the contest.

EC chairperson Charlotte Osei told media that the disqualified candidates’ nomination forms fell short of the requirement stated in the law governing this year’s polls. Enditem

Source: Xinhua/

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here