Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo, has nominated chief executives for the six new Municipal and District Assemblies, inaugurated on Tuesday, February 19.

This in line with Article 241 (1) of the 1992 Constitution and Section 20 (1) of the Local Government Act, Act 936.

A statement signed by the Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, and copied to the Ghana News Agency on Wednesday, named them as: Mr Asare Danso for the Birim South District in the Eastern Region; Mr Alhassan Abdallah Iddi – North East Gonja District of the Savanna Region; and Mr Godwin Edudzi Effah – Keta Municipal of the Volta Region.

The rest are: Alhaji Mohammed Quaye for the Ayawaso Central Municipal; Nii Adjei Tawiah – Korley – Klottey Municipal; and Madam Mariama Amui – Ablekuma Central Municipal; all in the Greater Accra Region.

The statement urged the respective Regional Ministers to liaise with their various Regional Electoral Commission to initiate the confirmation process for the nominees.

The nominees are required to win at least two-thirds of the valid votes cast by the assembly members.


Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 234-972-832 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.