Glance at Navrongo Central Constituency

A voter casts her ballot in Accra, Ghana, on Dec. 7, 2016. Ghana's general elections began from 7 a.m. (0700 GMT) on Wednesday, with more than 15 million registered voters casting their ballots at 29,000 polling stations across the country. (Xinhua/Shi Song)(gl)

The Navrongo Central Constituency is located in the Kassena-Nankana Municipality of the Upper East Region with a total voter population of 54791, and 35 electoral areas.

It is one of the Constituencies represented in the Parliament of Ghana, and its Constituents had over the years elected Members of Parliament with swing voting patterns between the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party (NPP) which are the most dominant parties.

The political behaviour of Constituents makes it quite difficult for some political watchers to predict the outcome of Parliamentary elections in election years.

In this year’s Presidential and Parliamentary elections, the seat is contested by Mr Sampson Tangombu Chiragia, for the NDC and Madam Tangoba Abayage of the NPP and Madam Susana Agoriba Kubirizegah of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP).

The three Parliamentary Candidates, have their bill boards visibly displaced in the Constituency, especially within the Navrongo township to draw attention.

Mr Godfrey Abullu of the NDC in 1992, won the seat, in 1995, Mr John Setuni Achuliwor, an Independent Candidate won the seat in a by-election.

The NDC took back the seat in the 1996 Presidential and Parliamentary elections with Mr Clement Tumfuga Bugase elected as Member of Parliament (MP).

Mr Achuliwor again contested the seat and won on the ticket of the NPP in 2000, however, there was a by-election on March 25, 2003, when he passed on in a road traffic accident in January 25, 2003.

Mr Joseph Kofi Adda, won the by-election on the ticket of the NPP in the by-election in 2003, and went on to win subsequent elections.

He was defeated in the 2012 general elections when he polled 15,443 votes representing 45.84 per cent, while Mr Woyongo got 17,907 votes, representing 53.16 per cent.

Mr Adda, the Minister of Aviation and incumbent MP for the area in 2016 recaptured the seat to represent the people of the Constituency in Parliament.

It has educational institutions including the CK Tedam University of Technology and Applied Sciences, the Saint John Bosco College of Education, the Community Health Nursing Training College and several second cycle institutions.

Constituents in the Navrongo Central Constituency are hopeful that the Tono Irrigation Project, funded by World Bank at an estimated valued of $29,176,417 would be completed in April 2021, the expected date of completion to support dry season farming activities in the Tono area.

Apart from Fumbisi in the Builsa South District which is noted for production of rice in the Region, the Navrongo Constituency is one of the largest rice production areas in the Region.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here