Harrison Afful crowned SWAG footballer of the year


Ghanaian defender Harrison Afful has beaten fellow Black Stars team mates Asamoah Gyan and Andre Ayew to the coveted Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) footballer of the year.


Harrison Afful played a key role to help his former club Esperance to win the league and put out an impressive performance for Ghana at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

He was particularly singled out in the game against Germany where Ghana played a 2-2 draw with Germany. The match was regarded as the best game in the tournament.

The right back who currently plays for United States side Columbus Crew was not present but his family was there to receive the award on his behalf.

In a video message sent from his base in US, Afful thanked SWAG for recognizing his achievements and credited the award to all his teammates.

The Premiership Player of the Year was picked by Augustine Okrah?who scored 16 goals for Bechem United in the local league. The big winners were Martha Bissah Sharon Akwei who both won two awards. Martha picked up the ?Discovery of Year and Athlete of the Year awards with her coach, Isaac Nii Odartey Lamptey being awarded Coach of the Year. Sharon on the other hand won the Promising Star of the Year and Tae-Kwondo Player of the Year.

The ?48th MTN SWAG awards night which was held at the Banquet Hall of the State House was graces by Nana Kobina Nketia V, Omanhen of Essikado (British Sekondi) Traditional Area.

There were several other dignitaries in attendance including the Sports Minister, Dr. Mustapha Ahmed.

Below is the full list of all the winners


Footballer of The Year:
Harrison Afful
Premiership Player of the Year:
Augustine Okrah
Club of the Year:
Kumasi Asante Kotoko
Discovery of the Year:
Martha Bissah
Promising Star of the Year:
Sharon Akwei (Para Tae-kwondo)
Female Footballer of the Year:
Jennifer Cudjoe
Amateur Boxer of the Year:
Umar Abdul Walid
Professional Boxer of the Year:
Richard Commey
Judoka Of the Year:
Razak Abugri
Tae-Kwondo Player of the Year:
Sharon Akwei
Hockey Player of the Year:
Elizabeth Opoku
Athlete of the Year:
Martha Bissah
Coach of the Year:
Isaac Nii Odartey Lamptey ? Trainer of Martha Bissah
Dedication & Valour:
Ali Jaarah
Referee of the Year:
J.O. Lamptey
Edmund Zankoh ? Contribution to the development and promotion of hockey in Ghana.
Anthony Baffoe- Contribution to the development of football, esp. at the World Cup Brazil 2014.
Magnus Rex Danquah ? Contribution to the development of sports in Ghana.
Akolya Pattel ? Contribution to the development and promotion of cricket in Ghana.
Corporate Awards.
McDan Ghana Limited ? Contribution to the development and promotion of Tennis in Ghana
?Dwadifo Adanfo ? Contribution to the development of hockey in Ghana.
by?: David Apinga
Source : newsghana.com.gh
Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here