Ho Catholic Diocese marks end-of-year Grotto pilgrimage


The Ho Diocese of the Roman Catholic Church has marked the 2019 end-of-year Grotto pilgrimage at the Our Lady of Lourdes Grotto in Kpando-Agbenoxoe of the Volta Region with a call on Christians to identify their missions from God.

The pilgrims were urged to endeavour to recognise God, know his commandments and abide by the commandments to live Christ-like lives as Christians worthy of the call of God.

Most Reverend Father Emmanuel Kofi Fianu SVD, Bishop of the Ho Diocese made the call in his sermon at the celebration of the feast of Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the climax of the pilgrimage.

He called on Christians to endeavour to live like saints, follow the footsteps of saints and eschew all forms of unworthy behaviours and corrupt activities that could distance humanity from the divine love of God.

Bishop Fianu said it was unfortunate that Christians loved to tow the path of dishonesty and blamed each other for various atrocious acts and asked the pilgrims to emulate the life of the Virgin Mary, meditate on her life and pray to God for strength in their daily lives.

He asked Christians to own Bibles, read the Bibles and pray to enable them grow in their spiritual lives, adding that “that is how we are able to transform our lives.”

The year, 2020 was also launched as the year of the “Word of God” with the call on Christians to read the Bible daily.

The pilgrimage was attended by various groups and confraternities in the diocese including; the Catholic Women Association, Catholic Men Fellowship, Perpetual Help Confraternity, Charismatic Renewal, Knights of St. John International and Ladies Auxiliary, Knights and Ladies of Marshall as well as the Diocesan Mass Choir.

Others present were, Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Church (SMMC), student groups from some Senior High Schools and tertiary institutions.

The Ho Diocese is located in the Volta Region of Ghana and constitutes ten administrative districts, namely: Ho, Kpando and Hohoe municipal areas.

Others are; North Dayi, South Dayi, Adaklu, Agortime-Ziope, Ho-West, Afadjato-South Districts and parts of Asuogyaman District in the Eastern Region.

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here