25th Courage in Journalism Awards: Interview Opportunities, Press Passes


In many parts of the world, it takes courage to be a journalist:

In the Middle East, CNN Correspondent Arwa Damon has escaped crossfire, shelling, and bombing, and has withstood criticism from government entities for her reporting.

In the Democratic Republic of the Congo, editor in chief Solange Lusiku Nsimire is the target of ongoing threats and harassment; she and her family have been attacked and she has fought numerous obstacles to continue publication of her newspaper.

In Serbia, TV reporter Brankica Stankovi? is a target for continued attacks, including explicit death threats, forcing her to live under 24-hour police protection as she continues her rigorous investigative coverage of Serbia?s political and social ills.

This year, the International Women?s Media Foundation (IWMF) celebrates the 25th anniversary of the Courage in Journalism Awards. We will honor Arwa Damon, Solange Lusiku Nsimire and Brankica Stankovi?, shine a spotlight on their courage and promote the importance of free press.

The 25th Courage in Journalism Award ceremonies will be held in:

New York on October 22, 2014

Hosts: Cynthia McFadden (NBC News) and Norah O’Donnell (CBS News);


Los Angeles on October 28, 2014

Hosts: Cindi Leive (Glamour) and Olivia Wilde (actress and activist);

The IWMF will also honor the life and memory of AP Photojournalist and 2005 Courage Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014) with a special exhibit of her thought-provoking work and the launch of the new Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award.

The 2014 Awardees will be traveling to the United States to accept their Awards, and will be available for interviews upon request. A limited number of press passes are available to members of the media wishing to cover the Award ceremonies. The Award ceremony in New York will be live streamed at iwmf.org/livestream

For more information about the 2014 Awardees, the award ceremonies, and the Courage in Journalism Awards, contact Anna Schiller, [email protected], +1 202 567 2613, visit iwmf.org/courage, and follow #IWMFcourage on Twitter (@IWMF).

Founded in 1990 by a group of prominent U.S. women journalists, the International Women’s Media Foundation is a Washington-based organization that is dedicated to strengthening the role of women journalists worldwide. The IWMF believes the news media worldwide are not truly free and representative without the equal voice of women. The IWMF celebrates the courage of women journalists who overcome threats and oppression to speak out on global issues. The IWMF’s programs empower women journalists with the training, support and network to become leaders in the news industry.

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 

Previous articleZuriel Speaks On International Day of the Girl Child Week
Next articleKufuor and his neutrality in the NPP
News Ghana is a premier news source that covers daily news of Ghana, Africa and the World over.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here