Kenya is among the 12 teams that will compete at the inaugural HSBC Sevens Challenger Series event for women in South Africa in March, officials said on Saturday.

The event will take place in Stellenbosch on March 28 and 29, Kenya Rugby Union announced.

The side famously known as the Lionesses will compete alongside Argentina, Belgium, China, Colombia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Scotland and hosts South Africa.

The 12 teams will be drawn into three pools of four that will compete towards a grand final where the winner gains ‘Core Team’ status on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2021.

Challenger Series champion will replace the bottom-placed Core Team at the end of this season.

Head coach Felix Oloo plans to take the team to Malaysia for a build-up tournament ahead of the trip to South Africa.

The Lionesses lost to Brazil last year in the Challenger Series semifinals in Hong Kong and Oloo said they are making progress every year. Enditem

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.