Kenya’s 30-man team for 2019 AFCON unveiled

Sebastien Migne
Sebastien Migne

Sebastien Migne head coach of the national team of Kenya, the Harambee Stars, has named a 30-man provisional squad for the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON), to be hosted by Egypt.

Harambee Stars who are making a 15-year comeback to the continental showpiece placed second in Group F behind African giants Ghana.

Tottenham midfielder and captain of the Harambee Stars , Victor Wanyama would lead his team mates to Egypt with young talented which Anthony Akumu, Eric Johanna and Francis Kahata all included in the provisional list.

Sweden based forward Christopher Mbamba has also made the cut for the tournament while St. George’s Patrick Matasi maintains his position in the team as the undoubted first choice goalkeeper.

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi, Faruk Shikhalo, John Oyemba, Brian Bwire

Defenders: Philemon Otieno, Musa Mohammed, Joash Onyango, Bernard Ochieng, Brian Mandela, Aboud Omar, David Owino, Bernard Ochieng, Erick Ouma , Joseph Okumu

Midfielders: Victor Wanyama, Anthony Akumu, Eric Johanna, Ismael Gonzales, Francis Kahata, Dennis Odhiambo, Clifton Miheso, Paul Ware , Ayub Timbe, Ovella Ochieng

Strikers: Christopher Mbamba, Micheal Olunga, Masoud Juma, John Avire, Allan Wanga, Whyvhone Isuza.

The tournament which kicks starts from June 21 – July 19 in Egypt would see 24 countries compete for the coveted continental trophy.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here