Macky Sall

The Constitutional Council of Senegal announced on Tuesday the official final results of the presidential election held on Feb. 24, proclaiming Macky Sall re-elected president of Senegal.

According to the results verified by the Constitutional Council, Macky Sall obtained 2,555,426 votes, or 58.26 percent of the valid votes. Idrissa Seck came second with 899,556 votes, or 20.51 percent.

Five candidates contested the presidential election, including Macky Sall who is seeking a second term, former Prime Minister Idrissa Seck, former Foreign Minister Madicke Niang, former tax inspector Ousmane Sonko and academician Issa Sall.

According to the constitutional revision of 2016, the presidential term would be reduced to five years from seven years previously.

The inauguration date of Macky Sall for his second and final term is set for April 2, two days before Senegal’s Independence day. Enditem



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.