Madagascar flag

The polling stations opened at 6:00 a.m.local time in the 119 districts of the country and was scheduled to close at 5:00 p.m., the president of Independent National Election Commission (CENI) Hery Rakotomanana told Xinhua on spot.

Madagascar flag

Rakotomanana said the voting went well as scheduled with no incidents recorded.

Results from some polling stations that have finished voting show the ruling party HVM is leading.

Madagascar has a bicameral parliament, including the national assembly or the lower house, and the Senate or the upper house.

The 151 members of the national assembly were elected in direct universal suffrage held on Dec. 20, 2013, while the senate will be composed by 63 members, including 42 that are elected in indirect universal suffrage held on Tuesday and the 21 others that will be appointed by the president in 2016.

The CENI will issue provisional result of the election by Jan.10, 2016, and the definitive result will be announced by the High Constitutional Court 30 days after that. Enditem

Source: Xinhua


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.