MP for Akim Oda William Agyapong retains seat


Mr William Agyapong Quaittoo, an aspiring parliamentary candidate for the New Patriotic Party (NPP), has won the Akim Oda seat with 21,131 votes.

The Akim Oda constituency has 72 polling stations and 28,812 electorates cast their votes out of the registered 42,159 voters.

The list of results certified by Mr Ebenezer Odum Gaisie, the Returning Officer is as follows: NDC- 6,610 votes, NPP – 21,836 votes, NDP – 3 votes, PPP – 337 votes, CPP – 12, PNC -10 and an Independent Candidate obtained 4 votes.

The results for the parliamentary candidates are as follows: NDC – 6,829 votes, NPP- 21,131 votes, PPP – 599 and CPP – 161 votes.

The security for this year’s general election was adequate and there were no signs of violence at the various polling stations.

At the Asene-Manso-Akroso constituency, Mr George Kwame Aboagye, the NPP parliamentary aspirant polled 21,138 votes to win the seat.

Mr Richard Roland Acquah, the NDC parliamentary aspirant, obtained 9,746 votes.

Mr Akyea – Manu, the Returning Officer at the collation Officer at Akroso, said out of the 43,629 expected number of voters, 30,884 was the total valid votes cast while 189 were rejected in the parliamentary election.

The certified results for the presidential results at Asene-Manso-Akroso (AMA) constituency were as follows: NDC – 9349, NPP – 21125, PPP – 185, CPP – 39, NDP – 19, PNC – 22, Independent – 16.

Source: GNA/

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News Aviator


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here