MTN Supports SWAG Awards with $9000


SWAG President Kwabena Yeboah receiving the cash cheque

SWAG President Kwabena Yeboah receiving the cash cheque

Telecommunication giants MTN have committed GHS 35000 (above $9300) towards the organization of the upcoming SWAG awards.

The announcement was made at the official launch of the 40th edition of the awards ceremony on Tuesday at the Press Center.

The awards is held annually to award excellent performance by athletes in the various sporting disciplines in Ghana.

This year?s event which will take place at the State Banquet Hall on October 3 will see Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew and Harrison Afful compete for the Footballer of the Year award.

Abeiku Ainooson, Kwabena Edusei and Augustine Okrah will also contest the 2014 Premiership Player of the Year award.

Former Ghana defender Anthony Baffoe has also been nominated for an award for his contribution to the development of football using his immense work as a general co-ordinator.

In all, fifteen categories will be awarded on the night of October 3 at the State Banquet Hall with nominees for the flagship Sports Personality of the Year award yet to be announced.

Send your news stories to Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here