National Accreditation Board
National Accreditation Board

The National Accreditation Board (NAB) has warned the public against four universities that have not been accredited, yet have gone ahead to confer honorary degrees on some individuals in the country.

National Accreditation Board
National Accreditation Board

According to the Board, some of the foreign institutions confer such honorary degrees, particularly doctorate, on prominent personalities ?with the intent to legitimize and popularize the operations of the institutions in Ghana, and thereby seek to attract unsuspecting students to enroll in them.?

The four universities are; Day Spring Christian University of Mississippi, Pan African Clergy Council and Bible College, Global Centre for Transformational Leadership and the World Council for Evangelical Clergy.

The Day Spring Christian University of Mississippi recently conferred honorary doctorate degrees on Ghana?s Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, Sherry Ayittey; National Disaster Management Organisation boss, Kofi Portuphy; Secretary General of the Trades Union Congress, Kofi Asamoah; Secretary General of the Ghana Federation of Labour, Abraham Koomson and Joy FM?s international correspondent Jefferson Sackey.

NAB in an earlier statement on September 8, expressed concern about the?conferment of honorary degrees and emeritus professorships?by institutions which do not have the accreditation to do so.

The?Executive Secretary of NAB,?Kwame Dattey,?said that the situation was ?in contravention of the Tertiary Institutions (Establishment and Accreditation Regulations, 2010 ? LI 1984, Section 13 (1&2) and Section 19 (1&2).?

NAB has since published the list of eligible institutions established in Ghana that can confer honorary degrees below:

University of Ghana, Legon

Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology

University of Cape Coast

University of Education, Winneba

University for Development Studies

University of Mines and Technology, Tarkwa

University of Professional Studies, Accra

University of Health and Allied Sciences

University of Energy and Natural Resources

Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration

Ghana Institute of Journalism

Valley View University

Akrofi-Christaller Memorial Research Institute

Trinity Theological College

Credit:?Nana Boakye-Yiadom|

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to newsghana[email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.