Namibia unveils panel of judges for annual music awards


What is arguably the biggest night in Namibian music entertainment the Namibian Annual Music Awards 2019 will have an esteemed judging panel of Namibians, together with music, entertainment and media executives from South Africa, Kenya, Ghana, and Jamaica.

The organizer Mobile telecommunication company (MTC) announced on Monday that on the panel of judges are internationally acclaimed musicians Yvonne Chaka Chaka from South Africa, and Jamaican Raggae group Morgan Heritage.

Yvonne Chaka Chaka, dubbed “Princess of Africa” is most notably known as the first black child to appear on South African television in 1981 at the height of apartheid. In 2012, she was the first African woman to receive the World Economic Forum’s Crystal Award.

Meanwhile, Morgan Heritage, formed in 1994, made their first appearance at Reggae Sunsplash in Jamaica and released their first album the same year. The group’s 2015 album Strictly Roots won the Grammy Award in the Best Reggae Album category in 2016. The band later released the album Avrakedabra, which was nominated for another Grammy in 2018 for the album “Avrakedabra,” and in 2019 received a second Grammy.

The duo will be joined by Axali Doeseb, Namibia’s first post independent black conductor of the Namibian National Symphony Orchestra and author of the Namibian National Anthem.

Managing director of Sony Music Entertainment Pan Africa Sean Watson is also another judge, responsible for the global success of a catalogue of African megastars including as Davido, D’banj and Wizkid.

Top Namibian female DJ Lischen Khachas, Alma Ulamba, Che Ulenga (Namibia) Jasmine Dotiwala (United Kingdom), Sammy Forson (Ghana), Somoina Kimojino and Sammy Thuo (Kenya) complete the list of judges.

The Namibian Music Awards will be held at a later stage this year. Enditem

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here