Vanguard (Lagos)

Ikechukwu Nnochiri

27 January 2012

The Supreme Court has in a judgement delivered, Friday morning, sacked the five governors of Bayelsa, Adamawa, Sokoto, C/River, Kogi state from their respective office.

In a unanimous decision, a 7-man panel of justices of the apex court, maintained that the affected governors exceeded the 4-years tenure that was specifically stipulated in section 180(2) of the 1999 constitution.

Counsequently,it made an order setting aside the two lower courts judgments that ab-initio elongated the tenure of the governors till this year.

The affected governors areTimipre Sylva(Bayelsa) Magatakada Wamakko,(Sokoto) Liyel Imoke(C/River) Ibrahim Idris(Kogi) and Murtala Nyako( Adamawa)

AllAfrica – All the Time

More News on 

View the original article here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.