NPP retains Chairman Kutin, two others in Central Region

Robert Kutin
Robert Kutin

The Central Regional branch of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has for the third time retained Mr Robert Kutin Jnr as the Regional Chairman, together with three others.

Mr Kutin polled 273 to beat his sole contender, Dr Joseph Kobina Essibu, who obtained 195 votes, in a highly competitive regional executives’ election, conducted and supervised by the Electoral Commission at the Dunkwa Nursing and Midwifery College.

The two incumbent executives who also retained their seats were Richard Takyi Mensah, Secretary, who polled 237 votes to defeat his opponent; Armstrong Esaah, 207 votes.

Madam Charlotte Adwoa Antwi, the incumbent Women’s Organiser, bagged 231 votes to beat two others, Ms Sarah Afful, and Madam Agnes Owusu.

The elections saw six new entrants securing positions. They are Messrs Percy Dennis Quaicoo, First Vice Chairman, Michael Mensah, Second Vice Chairman, Charles Kojo Odoom, Assistant Secretary Kenneth Quansah, Youth Organiser,
Anthony Kweku Sackey, Organiser, and Francis Asare, Treasurer.

Mr Quaicoo polled 223 votes as against his two contenders Mr Theophilus Effum Halm, and Madam Cecilia Koufie.
Mr Mensah, Second Vice Chairman, garnered 219 votes to beat two other opponents; Kingsley K. Kakari-Bondzie, 203 votes, the incumbent, and Nana Ama Abrefi, 24 votes.

The Assistant Secretary position went to Mr Odoom who won with 198 votes to beat three other contenders; Mr Kweku Nyarkoh-Koomson, 184, Emmanuel Oduro Ansah, 62, and Noah Osei Asenso, zero.

Mr Sackey, had 299 votes to win the Organiser position, defeating Mr Francis Ejaku Donkoh, 147 votes.
Mr Quansah obtained 249 votes to win the Youth Organiser’s position, defeating Samuel Annobil Baidoo, who had 197.

The Treasurer position was won by Mr Asare with 175 votes, beating Madam Faustina Baah, who got 133, Michael Kyeremateng, 95 and Kwesi Eyi Acquah, 42.

Alhaji Abubakari Osuman won the Nasara Coordinator position after polling 245 votes to beat Alhaji Djabana King Safianu, who had 201.

Mr Kweku Ofori Asiamah, Chairman of the Regional Elections Committee, swore-in the elected executives and said the smooth election showed a united entity, which he hoped would be sustained towards the greater aim of maintaining political power in 2024.

Mr Richard Takyi Mensah, in a victory speech, promised to continue working with all to consolidate the gains made.

The Regional Secretary-elect, Mr Takyi Mensah, said research and communication had spurred the victory and was sure it would reflect in the coming elections.

He pledged his unflinching commitment towards working with the grassroots to ensure victory and recapturing the lost seats in the region.

The election saw heavy security presence with the venue sealed off.
Non-delegates and supporters took over the principal streets of the College, parading banners, posters, and fliers of their favorite aspirants.

In all 28 aspirants contested for 10 positions with 454 delegates, including the Council of Elders, Members of Parliament, Regional Officers, Council of Patrons, and representatives from TESCON.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here