Daniel Titus Glover, NPP parliamentary candidate for Tema East constituency jubilating with some supporters after being declared

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has retained all three constituencies in the Tema metropolis including the newly-created Tema Central seat.

The hope of Local Government and Rural Development Minister, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo was dashed after he lost to Irene Naa Torshie Addo, the incumbent MP for Tema West.

In 2008, the minister lost the Fanteakwa seat to Hon. Amankwa Asiam. The minister, who invested heavily in the campaign, polled 39,005 votes as against Irene Naa Torshie?s 39,950 votes.

Robert Ekow Arko of the Progressive People?s Party (PPP) had 620 votes with another female candidate, Susan Adu Amankwah of the Convention People?s Party (CPP) obtaining 1022 votes.

The People?s National Convention (PNC) candidate, Kweku Ntow secured 59 votes.

John Dramani Mahama polled 38,594 with Nana Akufo Addo obtaining 40,374 votes in the Tema West Constituency.

GCPP had 90, UFP, 3, PNC, 17, CPP, 54, PPP, 412 and the independent presidential candidate securing 15 in the presidential.

At the Tema East Constituency, Daniel Titus Glover, a member of the NPP communication team, won the Tema East Constituency with a slim majority of three votes.

Kempis, who refused to certify the final result, rejected the outcome of the elections.

He polled 30072 against 30075 votes secured by Titus. Total ballot cast was 63065 with rejected ballots being 658.

The Tema Metropolitan Chief Executive (MCE) disputed figures, claiming his figures prove he won by 10 votes.

They recounted the votes three times at the collation centre, Twedease Teachers Resource Centre.

Nicklian Bekoe Derby of PPP polled 585; Jemilatu Mamadu of the PNC got 197 with Richester Nii Amarfio and Nathaniel Kyereme of the NDP securing 2064 and 72 respectively.

In the Tema East presidential race, the NDC managed to win the presidential elections.

John Dramani Mahama won the Tema East presidential race with 32,162 votes to beat the NPP presidential candidate, who had 30,701 ballots.

PPP, 297, UFP, 17, PNC, 26, GCPP, 6, CPP, 97 and the independent presidential candidate had 21.

The total votes in the presidential election was 63, 327 with 253 rejected ballots.

Kofi Brako won the newly created Tema Central seat with vast margin of 12,588 votes.

He polled 26,1948 as against 14,360 votes obtained by lawyer James Enu at Chemu Senior High School (SHS) where the results were declared.

Isaac Nuku Kofi, CPP and Kwabena Amouqua Andoh-Okyere of the PPP, polled 193 and 3 respectively.

Nana Akufo Addo won the presidential election with 27,998 while the NDC presidential candidate obtained 16,635 votes.

In the parliamentary race, PPP had 292, UFP, 0, PNC, 17, GCPP, 29, CPP, 85 and the independent presidential candidate, 3.

176 rejected ballots were recorded with a total 45, 059 votes.

From Vincent Kubi, Tema

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.