The Appointments Committee of Parliament will today [Friday], January 20, 2017, begin vetting ministerial nominees appointed by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Osafo Maafo, senior Minister nominee, will be the first to appear before the committee, which is also popularly referred to as Vetting Committee, followed by Kan Dapaah, who will head the Security Ministry.

Finance Minister-nominee, Ken Ofori-Atta, as well as nominee for Defense, Dominic Nitiwul, will all take their turns on the first day.

Day two The committee will further sit on Saturday, January 21, 2017, to vet Attorney-General & Justice Minister-nominee, Gloria Akuffo, and Minister-nominee for the Interior Ministry, Ambrose Dery.

Day three On Monday, 23rd January, 2017, the Committee will also vet Minister-nominee for Local Government & Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, Minister-nominee of Trade and Industry, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, Minister-nominee of Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, and Minister-nominee of Energy, Boakye Agyarko.

Day four Shirley Ayorkor Botchway, Minister nominee for Foreign Affairs, Dr. Matthew Opoku-Prempeh, Education and Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, Health, will appear before the Appointments committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017.

In all, 36 nominees would be vetted. Vet security minister in camera Ahead of the vetting, security agency, Eagle Eye International, has called on Parliament to vet nominees for Defense, Interior and National Security in camera.

Eagle Eye argues that, information and security strategies that would be given out in response to questions asked them at the vetting committee might put the security of the country in jeopardy.

“We have watched carefully the vetting of Ministers and their Deputies in the past, and know how information is divulged during the process, in the quest of parliament to know the qualification, experience and strategies, the nominees intend to adopt to make their ministries stronger and more effective…It is a major security threat, in our view, to lay bare for instance, plans to make the strategies of our nation better. We may compromise the security of our country if we deliberately or involuntarily divulge some sort of information to those we are protecting the country from,” Eagle Eye International said in the petition.

Below is the full list of members on the Appointments committee: Joseph Osei-Owusu (MP for Bekwai and First Deputy Speaker) – Chairman Adwoa Safo (MP for Dome Kwabenya and Deputy Majority Leader) Kwesi Ameyaw Cheremeh (MP for Sunyani East and Majority Chief Whip) Dominic Nitiwul (MP for Bimbilla) Samuel Atta Kyea (MP for Abuakwa South) Matthew Opoku Prempeh (Manhyia South) Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus-Glover (MP for Tema East) Ursula G. Owusu-Ekuful (MP Ablekuma West) Joseph Kofi Adda (Navrongo Central) Joseph Cudjoe (Effia) Patricia Apeagyei (Asokwa) O.B. Amoah (Akwapim South) Kofi Amoako Hene (Atebubu) Anthony Karbo (Lawra) Barbara Asher Ayisi (Cape Coast South) Micheal Yaw Gyato (Krachie) Minority: Haruna Iddrisu (Minority Leader and MP for Tamale South) – Ranking Member Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak (Minority Chief Whip and MP for Asawase) Mahama Ayariga (Bawku Central) Sampson Ahi (Bodi) Eric Opoku (Asunafo South) Bernice Adiku Heloo (Hohoe) Joseph Yieleh Chireh (Wa West) Edwin Nii Lantey Vanderpuye (Odododiodioo) Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa (North Tongu) Alhassan Suhuyini (Tamale North).

source: citifmonline

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 234-972-832 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.