Asante Kotoko SC

Kotoko defeated Ashgold by a lone goal at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium, Kumasi, courtesy Eric Donkor to win the trophy for the 14th time in a match patronised by the Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II.

A statement by William Dodzi Ezah, General Secretary of SWAG, said investigations conducted by the research team of SWAG shows that, Kotoko started winning the competition in 1981 and have since won it in 1986, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92 and 1993.

It added that, Kotoko also won it in 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2008 with the 2015 edition as the 14th time.

According to the statement, it has become necessary for the Association to resolve the confusion over the number of times, Kotoko has won the competition, since some media outlets pegged it 13.

It said Kotoko has won the trophy more than any club in Ghana, with a record of 14, with Hearts winning on five occasions, Ashgold – four , followed by Sekondi Hassacas who won the trophy on two occasions.

“It is the hope of the association that the confusion over the number of times Kotoko have won the cup will be put to rest as the association seeks to work around the clock to make future competitions a success.” The statement noted.


Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 234-972-832 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.