Home Sports Porcupine warriors win SWAG on 14th occasion

Porcupine warriors win SWAG on 14th occasion

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) wish to bring to the notice of the public, that the recent victory of Kumasi Asante Kotoko over Ashgold in the SIC Nyemitei SWAG Cup, made it the 14th time, the porcupine warriors were winning the trophy since its commencement in 1972.

Asante Kotoko SC

Kotoko defeated Ashgold by a lone goal at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium, Kumasi, courtesy Eric Donkor to win the trophy for the 14th time in a match patronised by the Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II.

A statement by William Dodzi Ezah, General Secretary of SWAG, said investigations conducted by the research team of SWAG shows that, Kotoko started winning the competition in 1981 and have since won it in 1986, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92 and 1993.

It added that, Kotoko also won it in 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2008 with the 2015 edition as the 14th time.

According to the statement, it has become necessary for the Association to resolve the confusion over the number of times, Kotoko has won the competition, since some media outlets pegged it 13.

It said Kotoko has won the trophy more than any club in Ghana, with a record of 14, with Hearts winning on five occasions, Ashgold – four , followed by Sekondi Hassacas who won the trophy on two occasions.

“It is the hope of the association that the confusion over the number of times Kotoko have won the cup will be put to rest as the association seeks to work around the clock to make future competitions a success.” The statement noted.


Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com Follow News Ghana on Google News



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

error: Content is protected !!
WP Radio
WP Radio
Exit mobile version