Four time tour of Rwanda champion Abraham Ruhumuriza

Four-time Tour of Rwanda champion Abraham Ruhumuriza was on song as he swept yesterday’s 177km race in the Northern Province.

Ruhumuriza together with Hadi Janvier, Nicodem Habiyambere, Gasore Hategeka, Emmanuel Rudahunga and Joseph Biziyaremye all used three hours and 21 seconds from Musanze to Muhanga.

Jean de Dieu Uwimana, Hassan Rukundo and Samuel Biziyaremye followed in seventh place after clocking 3hours and 24 seconds.

Obed Ruvogera and Innocent Uwamungu were four seconds off the pace while Jean Bosco Nsengiyumva and Jean Bosco Ngiruwonsanga finished joint-eleventh after using 3 hours and 27 seconds.

Other riders included Emile Bintunimana (3 hours and 29 seconds), David Nkurunziza (3 hours and 31 seconds) and Jacques Mbarushimana (3 hours and 33 seconds).

The race is part of Team Rwanda’s build-up to the Tour of Morocco which is slated for March 23-April 1 in Casablanca.

Since 2006, it counts as the second round on the UCI Africa Tour.

By Bonnie Mugabe, The New Times

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 

Previous articleKagame meets Rwandan community in Uganda
Next articleMore than just crafts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here