S. African Parliament receives list of designated lawmakers following elections

South Africa
South Africa

Parliament on Wednesday received the list of 400 designated parliamentary members for the sixth National Assembly (NA) following last week’s general elections.

Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng handed over the list to Baby Tyawa, Parliament’s Acting Secretary, Parliament said in a statement.

The Chief Justice, in line with his powers under the Constitution, also declared May 22 as the date for the first sitting of the National Assembly and May 23 as the first sitting of the National Council of Provinces (NCOP).

Parliament said it is expected to use the list created after last week’s election results to help it prepare for next week’s swearing-in ceremony.

Mogoeng will swear in the designated Members of Parliament. Once sworn in, the lawmakers will elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the NA.

South Africans went to the polls on May 8 to elect their representatives for the National and Provincial Legislative Assemblies. In the elections, the ruling African National Congress (ANC) emerged as the winner, capturing 57.51 percent of the votes.

The elections also endorsed a full term for President Cyril Ramaphosa who took over from Jacob Zuma in February 2018 when the latter resigned over corruption allegations.

At least 14 of the 48 political parties who contested the election qualify for representation in the National Assembly.

A total of 830 candidates have been put forward by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) as candidates for the NA and provincial legislatures for the next five years.

The NA is directly elected by voters, while the NCOP is elected by provincial legislatures which send delegates to look after its interests.

The African National Congress (ANC) has exactly 200 members in the NA, while the remaining 200 seats are shared by the other parties. Enditem

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here