South Africa
South Africa

Permanent delegates to the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) in the 6th democratic Parliament on Thursday elected Nkosiyakhe Amos Masondo as NOCP Chairperson.

The election, part of the House’s first plenary sitting following the May 8 general elections, took place after the swearing in of the 90 permanent delegates to the NCOP.

Masondo takes over the role from Thandi Modise who was on Wednesday elected as Speaker of the National Assembly (NA).

The NCOP delegates also elected Sylvia Elizabeth Lucas as Deputy Chairperson.

Seiso Mohai retained his position as NOCP Chief Whip, a position he filled after Hunadi Mateme in the 5th democratic Parliament in 2017.

Masondo said after the election that the NOCP was uniquely placed to reflect the diversity of the country.

He urged all delegates to work together to the benefit of all South Africans

The NOCP, or Upper House of Parliament, represents South Africa’s nine provinces to ensure that provincial interests be taken into account in the national sphere of government.

The NCOP consists of 90 provincial delegates, with each province being equally represented by 10 delegates in the NCOP, collectively referred to as provincial delegations.

The 10 delegates constitute a single delegation irrespective of the political parties each delegate represents. Enditem

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 234-972-832 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.