Samuel Okoe Amanquah: MCE nominee for Kpone-Katamanso

Mr Samuel Okoe Amanquah
Mr Samuel Okoe Amanquah

Mr Samuel Okoe Amanquah popularly known as OKOSON, a former New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) Election 2008 Kpone-Katamanso Constituency Parliamentary Candidate has been announced as the new nominee for the Municipality’s Chief Executive position.

If confirmed by two-thirds majority votes of the Assembly Members of Kpone-Katamanso Municipal Assembly in accordance with the Local Government laws, he would take over from the outgoing MCE, Mr Solomon Tettey Appiah.

Mr Amanquah 53-year-old nominee who is married with four children has been a member of the NPP since 1994 and represented the party as its Parliamentary Candidate in the 2008 elections but didn’t win.

He served as the Deputy Campaign Manager for the party’s Constituency campaign in Election 2020.

Academically, the nominee MCE who is an indigene of Kpone in the Greater Accra Region started his education at the Kpone Methodist Primary School and the Kpone Methodist Middle School.

He proceeded to Emit Commercial Institution for his GCE ‘O’ Level after which he pursued his GCE ‘A’ Level certificate and HND from the Accra Polytechnic now Accra Technical University.

Mr Amanquah also holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration degree from the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) and an MBA in Finance from the Coventry University, UK.

Until his nomination, he was the Head of Accounts for the Tema Chapter of Teachers’ Network Co-operative Credit Union (TCTNCCU).

He also worked as a storekeeper at the Agriculture Experimental Station, account officer for the Kpone Traditional Council, District Accountant for Dangbe East National Service Secretariat, and Finance Manager for Nestle Ghana Limited.

The Kpone-Katamanso Municipal is located at the Eastern part of the Greater Accra Region and stretches from the coast to the southern lower slopes of the Akwapim mountains.

The Kpone-Katamanso Municipal Assembly is only 38 kilometers drive from Accra, the capital city of Ghana and was carved from the Tema Metropolitan Assembly in 2012 with the promulgation of the Legislative instrument (L.I.) 2031.
The Assembly has a membership of 29 made up of 18 elected Assembly members and eleven Government appointees.

The Municipality is made up of four Area Council, namely: Kpone – Afieye, Laloi and Dingla; Kamsbeg – Kakasunanka, Nmlitsakpo, Sebrepor, Bethelhem and Gbetsile; Zekas – Zenu, Katamanso, Appolonia and Saasabi; and Onsbac – Oyibi, Nanoman, Saduase and Bawaleshie.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here