Sekyere East Assembly opens fresh nominations for Presiding Member position

Electoral Commission (EC)
Electoral Commission (EC)

The Sekyere East District Assembly in the Ashanti Region, has opened fresh nominations to enable interested contestants of the Assembly to file for the Presiding Member (PM) position, after two failed attempts to elect a PM.

For two times running, the Assembly in separate elections supervised by the Electoral Commission, failed to elect a clear winner in a straight contest between the two contenders – Mr Emmanuel Adjei Baafi, the immediate past PM and Mr Emmanuel Opoku, an elected Assembly Member for the Effiduase South Electoral Area.

None of the candidates could secure the 26 votes, representing two-thirds mandatory votes required to become a clear winner, after the 39 Assembly members voted two times to elect a PM.

Acting therefore in consonance with the Standing orders of the Assembly, Mr. Ernest Adomah, the District Electoral Officer, stated that the two candidates have to be set aside for fresh nominations to open, which would give interested District Assembly Members the opportunity.

Mr. Anthony Owusu Amoako, the District Coordinating Director (DCD), said management of the District Assembly was going to consider the next date for the election of the new PM.

He urged the Assembly Members to prioritize the development agenda of the District and eschew political differences in order to arrive at a smooth election of a new PM the next time

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807
Follow News Ghana on Google News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here