Sports Ministry Inaugurates New Advisory Board

Mr Isaac Kwame Asiamah
Mr Isaac Kwame Asiamah

A nine-member advisory board for the Ministry of Youth and Sports headed by the Minister of Youth and Sports, Mr Isaac Kwame Asiamah has been inaugurated in Accra.

The advisory board was sworn in by Her Lordship Malike Wornya-Dey, a circuit court judge.

The board had been tasked to promote constant interaction between the Ministry and users of its services in pursuant to section 39 of the civil service act 1993, PNDCL 327.

Mr Asiamah said the functions of the ministerial advisory board would also include advising the sector minister on adjustment in policy direction, planning objectives and operational strategies.

They have also been tasked to tackle issues like; the provision of adequate and disability friendly sports infrastructure and schools, strengthening national capacity in sports management and development, support development of funded and lesser known sports as well as ensuring the integration of youth concept into the national development planning processes and programmes.

He said the mandate of the ministerial advisory board also include playing an integral part in the governing structure at the ministerial level and key to the determination and implementation of policies of the sector.

Mr Asiamah, who is also the Member of Parliament for Atwima-Mponua constituency, in the Ashanti region, said “it is the board’s responsibility of ensuring harmonious relationship with stake holders at all times to promote fruitful partnerships in pursuit of sector goals and objectives”.

“It is expected that the board and political leadership work in concept towards the fulfilment of the vision of the President in the youth and sports sector”.

Nana Amampene Boateng Twum II, speaking on behalf of the advisory board members, assured the Minister that the board would be committed to their work and ensure that all the sporting disciplines in the country flourishes.

The nine-member advisory board are, Mr Isaac Kwame Asiamah, Pius Enam Hadzide, Nana Amampene Boateng Twum II, Sophia Kokor, Dr. Emmanuel Owusu-Ansah, Frank Quist, Mr. Patrick Nomo, Miss Esther Offei and Mr. Eric Kwaku Owusu-Donkor.