Tanzania commences construction of the African Court permanent premises

Politics African Court
Politics African Court

Justice Imani Daud Aboud, President of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights has commended the government of Tanzania for approving a budget of about US$1.7million to commence the construction of the Court’s permanent premises in Arusha.

“This is a big and bold step in ensuring that the African Court gets its permanent premises,” Lady Justice Aboud stated after the Parliament of Tanzania, approved the budget estimates of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and East African Cooperation.

A statement made available to the Ghana News Agency in Tema by Dr Robert Eno, African Court Registrar said the African Continental Court, which has its permanent seat in Arusha, is currently operating from its temporary offices at the Tanzania National Parks (TANAPA) buildings.

“This is a historic move and we are looking forward to its speedy construction,’’ she said, adding that this was yet another demonstration of Tanzania’s commitment to the cause of human rights, and generally, its unconditional support for the objectives of the Pan Africanism,” the African Court President stated.

The government of Tanzania had allocated about 25 hectares to the African Court in Laki Laki area, on the outskirts of Arusha town, for the construction of its permanent premises.

The location is in the vicinity of the UN Mechanism for International Tribunals (ex-ICTR and ex-ICTY).

The African Court is a continental court established by African countries to ensure the protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa. It complements and reinforces the functions of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

The Court was established by pursuant to Article 1 of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights, (the Protocol) which was adopted by Member States of the then Organization of African Unity (OAU) in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, in June 1998. The Protocol came into force on 25 January 2004. The Court officially started its operations in July 2006 in Addis Ababa and a year later moved to its permanent seat in Arusha, Tanzania.

The African Court is composed of eleven Judges, nationals of Member States of the African Union elected in their individual capacity, and meets four times a year in Ordinary Sessions and may hold an Extra-Ordinary Sessions.

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com and via WhatsApp on +233 244244807 Follow News Ghana on Google News Aviator


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here