United Cup 2015
United Cup 2015

The match will climax the Mo Ibrahim Annual Governance Weekend, which is a three day event to convene prominent African political and business leaders, representatives from civil society, multilateral and regional institutions as well as Africa’s major partners to debate issues of critical importance to the continent of Africa.

United Cup 2015
United Cup 2015

According to Larry Opare Otoo, Chief Executive of Primeval Media Consult who have been mandated to organise the football game, the weekend concludes with a public concert highlighting some of the best performers like Gas Milla and Shatta Wale with the renowned DJ Black on the turntables and a football match showcasing the best and outstanding African players.

He named former Black Stars captain Stephen Appiah as well as ex-internationals Laryea Kingston, Godwin Attram and John Mensah as guest players who will all feature for the Dream Team.

The three day event will see Primeval Media as the main organizers of the football match after being contracted by the Office of the President, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Mo Ibrahim Foundation.

“It is going to be a three-day event which starts on the Friday 20th of November, then there will be a musical concert on the Saturday before the match on the Sunday,” Chief Executive Officer of Primeval Media Larry Opare Otoo said at the launch of the football match on Tuesday.

Ex internationals C.K Akunnor of Dreams FC fame and Augustine Arhinful will head the technical team of the Dream Team with the organizers in advanced talks with the various league clubs to secure the services of their players for the match.

The players named for the Dream Team are Soulama Abdoulaye (Hearts of Oak), Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars), Godfred Saka (Aduana Stars), Tijani Joshua (AshGold), Lawrence Lartey (AshGold), Abeiku Ainooson (Asante Kotoko), Robin Gnagne (Hearts of Oak), Ahmed Adams (Asante Kotoko), Eric Kwakwa (Medeama), Kadri Mohammed (AshGold), Zakaria Mumuni (WAFA), Joseph Gordon (Medeama), Kennedy Ashia (Liberty Professionals), Latif Anabila (New Edubiase), Kofi Owusu (Berekum Chelsea), Joel Fameyeh (Asokwa Deportivo), Samuel Tetteh (WAFA), Latif Blessing (Liberty Professionals), Eric Opoku (AshGold), Bright Lukman (Ebusua Dwarfs) and Dan Darkwa (Aduana Stars).

By Sammy Heywood Okine

Disclaimer: News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +1-508-812-0505 

Previous articleKenya calls for public awareness on cancer
Next articleNGOs engage Media on child welfare policy
News Ghana is a premier news source that covers daily news of Ghana, Africa and the World over.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here