Home Sports Who is gracing 48th SWAG Awards?

Who is gracing 48th SWAG Awards?

Swag Awards
Swag Awards

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana SWAG Awards is the most prestigious event every sports personality looks up to at the end of the season.

People who have excelled in the past year under review watch out for nominations to be selected as best players, coaches, referees, administrators and so on.

Even others who could not win anything also look out to be invited to grace the occasion.

Popular icons and reputable people in the society are also invited including ex top stars. Chiefs, Ministers and Presidents.

This time around again, the Vice President, HE Mahamudu Bawumia who has been supporting the event for the past three years will be at the Accra International Conference Center on Friday, January 12, 2023 as the Special Guest of Honour.

The great Sir Sam Jonah who saw to creation of Obuasi Goldfields Football Academy, now AshGold into a force in force in African Football will be there together with other personalities and friends of sports.

Also attending are top musicians, Kofi Kinaata, Samini and Wendy Shay who will entertain guests.

The 48th SWAG Awards will see over 40 sports personalities and organisations being honoured, including the top five sports federations.

Football Star of the moment, Mohammed Kudus of West Ham in England is tipped for the most prestigious SWAG Sports Personality of the year as well as Footballer of the Year.

Zaira Forson will receive Swimmer of the Year and Rose Yeboah will collect Female Athlete of the Year.

The Male Athlete of the Year is between William Amponsah and James Dadzie.

Judoka Evelyn Dzato of Accra Girls SHS will get the Discovery of the Year, while others like Special Awardees Kudjoe Fianoo, Captain (Rtd) Andy Sam and Mawuko Afadzinu, Sports Administrator of the Year will be there.

Some companies and brands like Malta Guinness; HD Plus will be honoured for their support to various sports activities.

This year SWAG will honour five of their members who have served the Association with distinction over three decades, they are Sammy Heywood Okine, Rosalind Amoh, Maurice Quansah, Barima Acheampong Sometymer and George Kuntu Blankson.

The SWAG Award has been held unbreakable since 1975.

Nguvu Mining, the headline sponsor will be offering free psychiatric services and treatment for SWAG members who produce their AIPS cards.

Send your news stories to newsghana101@gmail.com Follow News Ghana on Google News



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

WP Radio
WP Radio
Exit mobile version